Archive for the The Club Constitution and Committee Members. Category

The Club Constitution

Posted in The Club Constitution and Committee Members. on May 3, 2012 by Rhyl Folk Club

RHYL FOLK CLUB Club Constitution & Rules April-2012

Compiled by: Alun R Jones

Page 1 of 2

This Constitution forms a formal framework, within which the above-named club shall operate.

This Constitution was formally adopted at the club’s 2012 AGM (Annual General Meeting) on

20th April 2012 subject to several amendments (included herein)

as per minutes of 2012 AGM.


1.1 The Club shall be called “Rhyl Folk Club”.


2.1 To provide, on a regular (ideally weekly) basis, a safe, affordable and welcoming venue, for promoting, performing and listening to folk music, both traditional & contemporary, from all cultures.


3.1 Members are defined as anyone over the age of 16 who is a supporter of the Club, who has registered their contact details on the club’s membership master-list, and whose membership application has been approved by the Committee.

3.2 Issues concerning Membership shall be resolved by Club Chairman and/or Committee. In the case of unresolved issues, any appeal will be heard by an independent third party.

3.3 Members have a right to vote at Annual General Meetings and to stand for election as a club Officer or Committee-member. Members may raise issues and vote at General Meetings.

3.4 Members may benefit from discounted admission fees, at the Committee’s discretion.

3.5 Membership may be deemed to have lapsed after more than SIX months of non-attendance.

3.6 Membership may be withdrawn, at the discretion of the Committee.


4.1 Legal and Financial affairs of the Club shall be run by a management Committee consisting of Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, plus a min. 2 to max. 6 x other members.

4.2 Other official roles shall be held by Committee Members and will be agreed and appointed by the committee.

4.3 Nominations for Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and Committee Members shall be sent to the Secretary, complete with names of Proposer and Seconder(s) FOURTEEN (14) days before the date of the AGM.

4.4 Officers and Committee shall be elected by ballot at the AGM, to serve for one year.

4.5 At each AGM, the Committee shall be dissolved, but may seek re-election.

4.6 The Committee shall ensure significant decisions are minuted and available to members on request.


5.1 Members Complaints, put in writing, will be processed promptly and answered by Committee.

5.2 Any member who is dissatisfied with the outcome of a complaint, may propose a vote of “no confidence” in any Officer or Committee member. Such “no confidence” proposals must be seconded by at least FIVE other Members. Such proposals shall be put in writing to the club secretary, supported by a clear explanation of the justification for the proposal.

5.3 Any “No Confidence” proposal will be decided by majority vote, at an Extraordinary General Meeting, which must be arranged by the Secretary within one calendar month of receipt of such a proposal.

RHYL FOLK CLUB Club Constitution & Rules April-2012

Compiled by: Alun R Jones

Page 2 of 2


6.1 The Club’s working year shall be from April 1st to March 31st.

6.2 Committee Meetings shall be held at least quarterly.

6.2.1 Quorum (Minimum Number) for Committee Meetings shall be FIVE

6.3 Extraordinary General Meetings may be called at any time by the Committee, or by a written request to the Committee, by no fewer than SIX Members, in which the Secretary must call an E.G.M. within one calendar month of receiving such a request.

6.3.1 Quorum for any General Meeting shall be TWELVE.

6.4 An Annual General Meeting (AGM) shall be held during each April.

6.4.1 Quorum for Annual General Meeting shall be TWELVE.

6.5 AGM Date, Time & Venue shall be notified to Members at least 14 days prior to the AGM, by electronic means… E-Mails, Website, Facebook and by announcement on at least two club-nights, immediately prior to AGM date.

6.6 At General Meetings, including the Annual General Meeting, members shall each have one vote, on each polled item.


7.1 The Club is a non-profit making organisation. Any income raised shall be used to promote the aims of the Club.

7.2 Treasurer, on behalf of Management Committee, shall hold Club funds in a bank account, withdrawal from which shall require signatures of TWO named members of the Committee. Preference is to be given for the club to bank with a not-for-profit bank e.g. a credit union.

7.3 Treasurer may hold a Petty-Cash Float amount in cash.

7.4 Individual Members shall not benefit from Club income, but may be reimbursed for legitimate expenses, for expenditure previously agreed in advance, by the Committee.

7.5 The Management Committee shall not spend more than the bank-account current balance.

7.6 Any assets belonging to the Club shall not be owned by any individual Member, but shall be the common property of the Club.


8.1 The club will be deemed to have ceased to exist if it does not meet for a period of SIX MONTHS and if no members show interest in continuing with the Club.

8.2 In the event of the Club being wound up, any assets remaining after payment of all proper debts and liabilities shall be distributed as follows: Equipment owned by the Club and any remaining Club funds, including those realised from sale of assets, shall be donated to good causes related to music. Disposal of assets will be managed by residue of Club Committee.


9.1 This Constitution and Rules were adopted at the Club’s AGM held on the 20th  April 2012

9.2 Proposals for changes to the Constitution and Rules may be proposed and seconded by Members and must be received in writing by the Secretary, no less than FOURTEEN days prior to AGM

9.3 Any changes to Club Constitution will be decided upon by majority vote, at the AGM.

Committee Members :-

Chairman    Andrew Pritchard.

Treasurer    Lesley Shepherd.

Webmaster   John Shepherd.

Secretary   Alun Rhys Jones.

Margaret Gough.

Edna Schofield.

Alan Manouch.

Dafydd Price Jones.

Ruth Pritchard.